Personal thoughts…

Tech, Hockey, and random thoughts…

The theory of friends

Thoughts on something I read in the newspaper today:

You know, I read in the newspaper today about something a murderer stated in court. It struck me as rather depressing.
It essence he excused his killing as an act of mercy, apparently the couple he killed were friends of his.
He stated that he viewed his having friends as a weakness, and so he had to kill them as he was afraid that caring for anyone but himself would hold him back in life.

It’s a sick and twisted point of view. One would imagine having friends would benefit him in life, not hold him back. It would seem rather lonely to give up caring about anyone, and in turn anyone caring about you.

I would imagine most people would find the thought of losing a friend as upsetting, he found the thought of having a friend as somehow loathsome. Quite the contradiction from the norm.

Personally I much prefer my stance that having people that care for you, and are willing to be there for you when needed… ie. friends, as being a good thing… not something to be afraid of.
I guess that’s obvious.. I merely felt like commenting as the thought of someone viewing friends as a concept to avoided as truly depressing.

It’s fitting enough for the newspaper though. The news in by it’s very nature depressing. It’s the nasty stuff that makes the headlines, I doubt people would want to read the news if it was filled with nice sweet articles about people helping little old ladies across the street. 🙂

Anyway, I’m curious what anyone else has to say on the article I mentioned above?

July 4, 2006 - Posted by | The World Today

1 Comment »

  1. I was wondrin, why don’t you ever talk about your life on this blog?
    Isn’t that the point to having a blog?
    You mostly just talk about stuff that intrests you, but not about yurself.

    Comment by Dan | July 13, 2006 | Reply


Leave a Reply

